Seeking your next good read? Emma Snyder, owner of the Ivy Bookshop at 6080 Falls Road in Mount Washington, offers recommendations for must-read titles for adults and children.

Fiction

“Such a Fun Age” (Hardcover)
By Kiley Reid, G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 320 pages, $26

A striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice. A page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.

“The Factory” (Paperback)
By Hiroko Oyamada, Translated by David Boyd, New Directions, 128 pages, $13.95

The English-language debut of Hiroko Oyamada, one of the most powerfully strange young voices in Japan. With hints of Kafka and creeping humor, “The Factory” casts a vivid — and sometimes surreal —portrait of the absurdity of the modern workplace.

Non-Fiction

“Uncanny Valley” (Hardcover)
By Anna Wiener, MCD, 288 pages, $27.00

Part coming-of-age-story, part portrait of an already-bygone era, Anna Wiener’s memoir is a rare first-person glimpse into high-flying, reckless startup culture at a time of unchecked ambition, unregulated surveillance, wild fortune, and accelerating political power. (Out on January 14th.)

“Dwellings: A Spiritual History of the Living World” (Paperback)
By Linda Hogan, W.W. Norton & Company, 160 pages, $14.95

Award-winning Chickasaw poet and novelist Linda Hogan calls us to witness how each living thing is alive in a conscious world with its own integrity, grace, and dignity.

Children’s (Ages 5-9)

“Where Dani Goes, Happy Follows (My Happy Life)” (Hardcover)
By Rose Lagercrantz and Eva Eriksson, Gecko Press, 196 pages, $17.99

In the sixth installment of this lovely Swedish chapter book series, Dani embarks on a train trip all by herself, fueled by positive thinking and love for her best friend.

Young Adult (Ages 13+)

“Suggested Reading”
By Dave Connis, Katherine Tegen Books, 400, $17.99

In this hilarious and thought-provoking contemporary teen standalone that’s perfect for fans of “Moxie,” a bookworm finds a way to fight back when her school bans dozens of classic and meaningful books.

More In News

All In News »