Seeking your next good read? Emma Snyder, owner of The Ivy Bookshop at 5928 Falls Road in Baltimore, offers recommendations for must-read titles for adults and children.

Fiction

“The Office of Historical Corrections: A Novella and Stories” (Hardcover)

By Danielle Evans
Riverhead Books, 288 pages, $27

The latest from beloved local author Danielle Evans, brings her signature voice and insight to the subjects of race, grief, apology and American history. This timely collection prompts us to think about many of the hard truths of American history.

“Pale Morning Light with Violet Swan: A Novel of a Life in Art“ (Paperback)

By Deborah Reed
Mariner Books, 320 pages, $15.99

This is the story of a 14-year-old girl who left rural Georgia during World War II and how she became a celebrated artist.

Nonfiction

“Having and Being Had” (Hardcover)

By Eula Biss
Riverhead Books, 336 pages, $26

Eula Biss strikes again with this provocative exploration of value production inspired by the purchase of her first home.

“Animals Strike Curious Poses”(Hardcover)

By Elena Passarelo
Sarabande Books, 200 pages, $19.95

In this delightful collection of essays, Passarelo looks at 16 famous animals named and immortalized by humans.

Young Adult

“When Stars are Scattered” (Paperback)

By Victoria Jamieson and Omar Muhamed
Dial Books, 264 pages, $12.99

Heartbreak, joy and humor exist together in this graphic novel about a childhood spent waiting and a young man who’s able to create a sense of family and home in the most difficult of settings. (Ages 9-12)

“New Kid” (Paperback)

By Jerry Craft
Quill Tree Books, 256 pages, $12.99

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, “New Kid” is a graphic novel about starting over at a new school where the struggle to fit in is real. An excellent choice for tween readers.